How To Enable Ad-Hoc Wi-Fi Detection for Android Phones

Posted: August 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

Image

Let’s break it down:

(note: the following process will only work on a rooted device)

  1. Get the wpa_supplicant.conf from here. Note that I myself got it from the xda-developers website but as I couldn’t recall the exact page I decided to upload my own copy of it to post here. I didn’t create it and all credit goes to the original creator whose name I would desperately like to recall but can’t.
  2. Get File Expert from here. The reason I linked to an apk and not to the market should be obvious. In case you can’t access the internet on your phone, this is the only way to get it. It’s a free app so don’t worry about piracy. Still, I suggest once you have a working network, update your app to the latest version.
  3. Install File Expert on your Android phone and copy the wpa_supplicant.conf file to your SD card.
  4. Run File Expert and grant it Super User Access whenever it asks.
  5. Browse to /system/etc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf on your phone and copy the original wpa_supplicant.conf file to a safe location so you can restore it if needed.
  6. Copy the downloaded wpa_supplicant.conf file to the aforementioned location, replacing the original.
  7. Restart your phone.

And now, if you have done everything properly, then your phone should be able to detect and use ad-hoc networks. It can be glitchy from time to time, but it’s currently the best solution I’ve been able to track down. If anyone has found a better method, please do leave a comment about it.

Hope I was useful.

Note: All the credit for the actual coding and modification process goes to the wizards at xda-developers. It’s a great site and I urge you to check it out for all your smartphone developments and hacking needs. Cheers.

Image

Comments
  1. This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!
    ! Finally I have found something which helped
    me. Thank you!

  2. Collette says:

    I was very happy to find this page. I wanted to thank
    you for your time just for this wonderful read!! I definitely really liked every bit of it and i also have you saved as a favorite to
    look at new things on your website.

Leave a Reply

